CNI Desk: The German government extended travel warnings for 160 countries until the end of August on Wednesday, according to a decision reached by the German Cabinet.

The travel warnings, which do not include European Union countries, advises against “non-essential tourist travel” due to the risks posed by the coronavirus.

The Foreign Ministry decision allows for some exceptions to be made for individual countries if the spread of the virus has been curbed.

The decision to lift individual travel warnings will take into consideration the number of new COVID-19 cases, as well as the testing capacity, hygiene rules and the health system capacity in each country.

Repatriation possibilities and safety measures for tourists will also be considered.

The non-EU countries listed in the travel warnings include some of the favorite destinations for German travelers, including Turkey.