News Desk: ‘We have been able to ensure 100% electrification of villages in 410 upazilas’

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has said the government will light up every house across the country within the “Mujib Borsho” (Mujib Year) by bringing all people under the electricity coverage.

“Some 40 out of our 64 districts are now under full electricity coverage. We have been able to ensure 100% electrification of villages in 410 upazilas. We will light up every house in Bangladesh by bringing the remaining districts and upazilas (under the 100% electrification) by the Mujib Borsho, and we have been working to achieve this goal,” she said.

The prime minister said this on Wednesday while inaugurating 100% electrification in seven districts and 23 upazilas of 18 other districts, and a 114MW heavy fuel oil-fired Power Plant in Feni, reports UNB.

She also opened the Sheikh Kamal IT Incubator and Training Centre constructed at Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib Hi-tech Park in Rajshahi through a videoconferencing from Ganabhaban in Dhaka.

The seven districts, which came under electricity coverage in their entirety, are Dhaka, Feni, Gopalganj, Natore, Pabna, Joypurhat, and Meherpur.

The 23 upazilas that came under 100% electrification are Bagerhat Sadar, Nasirnagar in Brahmanbaria, Alamdanga in Meherpur, Debidwar and Monoharganj in Comilla, Khansama in Dinajpur, Madarganj in Jamalpur, Jessore Sadar and Manirampur in Jessore, Terakhada in Khulna, Mirpur in Kushtia, Raipur in Lakshmipur, Kamalganj and Juri in Moulvibazar, Badalgachhi and Patnitala in Naogaon, Araihazar in Narayanganj, Jaldhaka in Nilphamari, Nakla and Jhenaigati in Sherpur, Ghatail in Tangail, Ranisankail in Thakurgaon, and Chhatak in Sunamganj.

PM’s Political Affairs Adviser HT Imam, PM’s Energy Adviser Dr Tawfiq-e-Elahi Chowdhury, former foreign minister AH Mahmood Ali, State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid, State Minister for ICT Division Zunaid Ahmed Palak, and State Minister for Foreign Affairs Md Shahriar Alam also spoke at the function.

PM’s Principal Secretary Dr Ahmad Kaikaus conducted the function while ICT Division Senior Secretary NM Zeaul Alam and Power Division Secretary Dr Sultan Ahmed made two presentations over the ICT and power sectors.